Dehlinger Construction is proud to be a certified roofing contractor in Florida. This certification assures you that they have gone the extra mile to prove that they are trustworthy before they ever set foot on your property. Here are some of the things that are required to become a certified roofing contractor in Florida.
No one can set for the exam until they are at least 18 years old. You must also have four years of experience working as a roofer in Longwood or at another location in Florida. Then, you are required to take and pass two examinations. The first examination is in business and finance. This test covers how to establish a contracting company, how to manage administrative duties, how to manage trade operations, accounting, human resources, and government regulation. The second examination covers different roofing techniques, including metal roofs, membrane roof systems, steep slope roofs, Florida building code, and many other topics.
Before becoming certified, the roofer must prove that they are financially sound. They must submit credit reports for themselves and their businesses. Only specific reports are accepted, and the FICO score must be at least 600. If the credit score is not at least 660, they must supply a letter of credit or a licensing bond. They must also prove that there are no unsatisfied liens or judgments against them or their business. The applicant must also take an approved 14-hour financial responsibility course.
The applicant also must pass a background check. As a part of this check, their fingerprints will be taken and run through a national database. The prints are made electronically at a location approved by the Florida Department of Law Enforcement.
Each applicant or company that wants to become certified in Florida must also prove to the state that they have $100,000 public liability insurance and $25,000 property damage insurance. An essential aspect of this required insurance is to provide worker’s compensation insurance to all of their employees.
Even with all the other requirements for classes and background checks, Florida still requires you to pay them for your license. Currently, if you were getting a license, the fee would be $249, but it could be prorated depending on the date. All licenses must be renewed by August 31 in even number years, so roofers in Longwood who have been at their roofing business for a while must pay a fee every two years.
There is a lot to becoming a certified roofer in Longwood, FL. One that is proud to have gone through the process is Dehlinger. Give this roofer in Longwood, FL, a call the next time that you need a roofing job completed, and trust that they have the knowledge and skills to do your job right. You may want to call them right now to get your roof inspected before the next storm arrives because your roof is your building’s first defense system.